Friday, 1 June 2018

REVIEW - Mackenzie Grey Series - Karina Espinosa


TITLE - Mackenzie Grey Series
Shift, Caged, Alpha, and Omega
AUTHOR - Karina Espinosa



It's hard enough being an undergraduate student, an intern at Downtown Manhattan's police station, and a bouncer at a local bar. Add her now ex-boyfriend who recently dumped her for the school's resident bimbo—oh, and she's a werewolf. 
Mackenzie Grey meets her match when she is kidnapped by the Brooklyn Pack and tossed between Sebastian and Jonah—the Alpha and the Beta. Being a lone-wolf in the city is dangerous, and now that the Pack has found her, so can every supernatural being in the Tri-State area. And not even her sarcastic, smart mouth can get her out of this. 
When a string of kidnappings involves Mackenzie in supernatural politics, she questions her new acquaintances and finds unlikely allies. Can she escape Pack law and keep her freedom—or will she be condemned to an unwanted path? 


Mackenzie Grey has started a brand new life in an attempt to escape the Brooklyn Pack. She settles in as a detective in a special unit of the LAPD when her identity is put at risk, and she has no choice but to run again. The question is: does she want to run forever?

As events force Mackenzie to confront her past, she is met with many surprises—including the revelation of her true ancestry. When Packs across the country learn of who she is, Kenz becomes the object of desire in a deadly wolf hunt, and she must once again fight to keep her freedom. 
Witnessing first-hand the barbaric treatment of Lunas, Mackenzie has to make a choice—follow the prediction of her Vision Quest or let herself be CAGED... 


Mackenzie Grey never felt as vulnerable as she does now—but that won’t stop her from getting what she wants: revenge. Kenz and her friends journey to a new land where everyone has a motive and everyone is a suspect. 

The Lunas find their voices after the massacre but question still stands—who is the real enemy? If Mackenzie wants to free herself, she will need to free them all; and it won’t be easy. As she approaches her 24th birthday—in the middle of a web of lies, deception, and murder—Kenz has to weave her way to the truth before she’s next on the chopping block.

With her companions, Mackenzie will make her final stand and change the course of the Lycan world forever…


Bodies drained of blood are scattered around New York City. With a serial killer on the loose, Mackenzie Grey is obsessed with solving the murders. She dives into her work at the Supernatural Investigative Unit to forget about the events that dismantled her Pack a year ago. When the killer makes Kenz the target, she falls down the rabbit hole and discovers she has a lot more to do with these murders than she realized. 

As her past creeps up behind her, she must swallow her pride and seek aid from old and new friends. Nothing stays hidden as Kenz learns a valuable lesson: rats swim.
In the epic finale of the Mackenzie Grey: Origins series, she will finally become the wolf she is destined to be…

Jennifer's Review:

The MacKenzie Grey Origins Series is an amazing series. It is a dive straight into the supernatural world. At first, it started off slow, but it quickly escalated into something way more than I bargained for. This series has so many twists and turns that my head was spinning. I loved this series. This story has romance, action, mystery, and a whole lot of amazing.
Shift-Book 1
Shift is book one in the series. This is where we really get introduced into this wonderful new world. Mackenzie is a great character. I really gravitated towards her almost immediately. This story is told from her point of view only, but I think this allows us to discover everything right along with her. The book ends in a way that the first story arc is complete, but it also introduced the arc that will span the four book series.
Caged-Book 2
Caged is book two in the series. It opens up with Mackenzie in a different place than when we left her. Within a couple of chapters, we get a time jump and we meet a different Mackenzie. A lot can happen in short amounts of time, and this makes it obvious. I love meeting the new characters introduced and seeing how things are different in different regions. When Mackenzie is put in an unusual situation, her past comes knocking. Will she run from it or towards it?
Alpha-Book 3
This is one of my favorite books of the series. We have some very big revelations that were revealed in the last two books and book three is the one that will blow your mind. Not only do we get much needed answers, but the romance is ramped up a bit in this one. The series does have a love triangle and this story helps clear things up for you. We also get to meet some amazing characters once again and explore a different world.
Omega- Book 4
Omega is the fourth and final book in the series. This book has yet another time jump, but it works to further the story. We have a majority of our answers at this point, but there are some important answers we are still missing. This story opens up and we get another very much changed Mackenzie. Honestly, I feel for her. She has had to go through so many different changes throughout this series. This book is the perfect conclusion to this wild trip we have been on. I think you will be satisfied once you get there.
Overall, I love this series. I read 3 of the books in one day. I would have read all four, but by the time I finished book 3 it was close to 3 in the morning and I needed sleep. As soon as I woke up, I had to read book 4. This story was gripping and captivating. The only complaint I have is I would have liked an epilogue or novella to see where they are at now.
Plot: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Heat: 5/5
Writing Style: 5/5

Overall: 5/5